National Women’s Cricket Championship starts today

Thursday, March 20, 2008

The 2007-08 National Women’s Cricket Championship, the fourth edition of the competition, starts with six matches in three different groups at various centres around the country from today (Thursday).

Twelve teams in all are taking part in the limited overs tournament, representing all the 11 cricketing regions of Pakistan, plus a team from the Higher Education Commission (HEC) which is also alternatively known as the Pakistan Universities Women.

In Zone A, based in Faisalabad, the two opening round matches are being played between Abbottabad Women and Rawalpindi Women at the Jawad Sports Complex Ground in the city and between Faisalabad Women and Lahore Women at the Bagh-e-Jinnah (or Bohranwali) Ground.

The Zone B matches will be played in the twin cities of Islamabad and Lahore. The first two matches being played today are between Islamabad Women and Peshawar Women at Islamabad’s Shalimar Ground and between Pakistan Universities Women and Sialkot Women at the Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi.

All matches in Zone C are being staged in cities located in the Sindh province. The first round match today between Hyderabad Women and Quetta Women is being played at Sindh University Ground Jamshoro. The other match today is between Karachi Women and Multan Women at the Nawabshah Cricket Stadium.

After the completion of the group-league round, the top team from each group will qualify for the Final Round to be staged at Sindh University Jamshoro and Niaz Stadium Hyderabad from March 27 to 29. The top two sides will then play the final in Hyderabad on March 31.

The tournament has gained increased importance with the Women’s Asia Cup competition coming up in Sri Lanka in May this year. Moreover, the Pakistan Women’s team is flying high after having qualified for next year’s World Cup in Australia as it made the final of the recent ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers in South Africa. Karachi Women are the holders of Pakistan’s national title, having beaten Lahore Women in the final played at Rawalpindi in the 2006-07 season, by the narrow margin of five runs.

0 Responses to "National Women’s Cricket Championship starts today"

Will Pakistan Premier League gain success just like Indian Premier League ?