Karachi women claim National Women C’ship title

Tuesday, April 1, 2008

The Karachi women clinched the title of 4th National Women Cricket Championship 2008 defeating Lahore with massive 85 runs in the final here at Niaz Stadium on Monday.

Batting first, Karachi managed 199 in 49.4 overs as a result of superb 60 runs of opener Nain Abidi, which she made with the help of five boundaries. Humera Mansoor 37, Javeria Khan 26 and Arman Khan 25 were other leading scorers of Karachi while 42 extra runs were the second highest total of the innings.

Off break bowler Sabahat Rasheed clinched four for 37 while Marina Iqbal bagged three for 36.

In reply Lahore bundled out at 114 in 36.4 overs. 44 runs were the highest total of Lahore women while Marina Iqbal 19, Sabahat Rasheed 19 and Mariam Butt 14 were the scorers who reached double figures.

Pacer Masooma Junaid two for 19, Shumail Qureshi two for 18 and Sana Mir two for 16 were the wicket takers from Karachi. Nain Abidi was declared woman of the match.

Umpires Kausar Shah and Akram Raza supervised the match while Masood Anwar was the Match Referee.

0 Responses to "Karachi women claim National Women C’ship title"

Will Pakistan Premier League gain success just like Indian Premier League ?