PCB gives priority to domestic cricket as schedule released

Sunday, October 7, 2007

PESHAWAR: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced its schedule for domestic cricket for the season 2007-08 with the commitment to support and give priority to the game at the domestic level.

The schedule seems reassuring of PCB’s pledge to hold different events at the domestic level with the aim to involve more players in the mainstream. While developing the schedule PCB has made sure that in spite of a very heavy international season, senior players are available for the domestic season as well.

The PCB has also changed the format for the season this year. According to the new format, departmental and regional teams will play together in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Championship. Top performing Under-19 players will also be given a chance to play at the first-class level in this new format.

In the newly introduced Under-23 tournament, five under-19 players will be included in each team.

In the Regional Inter-District Under-19 Tournament, a total of 82 teams competed for the top honours with 192 matches conducted from June 15 to July 8 this year. Likewise the Regional Inter-District Tournament was organised from August 24 to September 12 with 82 teams taking part and 192 matches were held.

This is to be followed by the first-class Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Championship, which will be commencing from October 20 and last until January 5, 2008. In the said event 13 regional teams and nine departmental teams will take part according to the newly introduced format to keep both the regional teams and departmental teams competing jointly.

The 22 teams will be divided in two groups and 111 matches will be played. In the Inter-Region Under-19 one-day and three-day competitions, which have already got off and will be completed by November 8, 13 teams are competing and a total 37 matches will be played in each event.

The Inter-Region Under-23 Three-day Championship will be commencing from November 11 to December 14, as 11 teams will be taking part and a total 28 matches will be played.

The National Twenty20 Cup will be played from January 8 to 14 next year, in which 22 teams will be facing each other with 28 matches in all to be held.

Five teams will compete in the first-class Pentangular Cup tournament to commence from February 10, 2008 to March 9, 2008 as a total 10 matches will be played.

The Quaid-e-Azam Cup One-day Championship will be held from March 15 to 29, with 22 teams participating and 53 matches will be played. The Patron’s Trophy Grade-II will start from April 1 and end on the 30th, with 22 teams competing and 53 matches to be played.

0 Responses to "PCB gives priority to domestic cricket as schedule released"

Will Pakistan Premier League gain success just like Indian Premier League ?