List of Pakistan coaches in last decade

Sunday, October 26, 2008

Former captain Intikhab Alam returned for a second stint as Pakistan cricket coach on Saturday, a day after the sacking of Australian Geoff Lawson.

Here is a timeline of the country's cricket coaches in the last ten years:

Sept 1998: Legendary former captain Javed Miandad takes over from Haroon Rasheed, a former middle-order batsman.

April 1999: Miandad resigns after falling out with senior players and is replaced by former captain Mushtaq Mohammad for the 1999 World Cup.

Aug 1999: Mushtaq sacked after the World Cup. Wasim Raja, a former allrounder, steps in.

Nov 1999: English-born Richard Pybus becomes Pakistan's first foreign coach.

Dec 1999: Intikhab Alam takes over after Pybus is axed following Pakistan's 3-0 rout
in a Test series in Australia.

Mar 2000: Miandad replaces Intikhab after Pakistan lost home series to Sri Lanka.

April 2001: Miandad sacked after Pakistan's tour of New Zealand and is replaced by Pybus.

Sept 2001: Pybus refuses to come to Pakistan for security reasons after the September 11, 2001 attacks on the United States and Mudassar Nazar takes over.

Sept 2002: Mudassar summoned home midway through ICC Champions Trophy in Sri Lanka and Pybus returns for a third stint.

March 2003: Pybus says he does not want to stay on after Pakistan were knocked out in the first round of the World Cup held in South Africa. Miandad returns as coach.

June 2004: Miandad sacked after Pakistan lost one-day and Test series against India at home.

July 2004: Former England batsman Bob Woolmer takes over.

March 2007: Woolmer dies in his Jamaica hotel room hours after Pakistan crash out in the first round of the World Cup in the West Indies.

July 2007: Lawson appointed as coach.

October 2008: Lawson sacked over poor results. Intikhab Alam appointed for three-day series against the West Indies to be played in Abu Dhabi.

0 Responses to "List of Pakistan coaches in last decade"

Will Pakistan Premier League gain success just like Indian Premier League ?