Pakistan’s Yousuf, Dar among nominees for ICC awards

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Pakistan’s star batsman Mohammad Yousuf and umpire Aleem Dar have been included in the list of nominees for the fifth ICC awards.

Yousuf has been nominated for the award of the One-day player of the year along with Nathan Bracken (Australia), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India) and Sachin Tendulkar (India).

However, West Indian Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene and South African Dale Steyn are set to dominate the fifth ICC awards night on Wednesday.

The three were nominated for both the cricketer of the year and the Test player of the year awards that will be announced at a gala dinner in Dubai, the headquarters of the International Cricket Council.

South African captain Graeme Smith was the fourth nominee for the cricketer of the year, while team-mate Jacques Kallis completed the list for the Test player of the year.

None of the four nominees for the cricketer of the year have won the award before, meaning a new name will be inscribed on the prestigious Garfield Sobers Trophy.

Past winners include India's Rahul Dravid (2004), England's Andrew Flintoff and Kallis (joint winners in 2005), and Australia captain Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007).

The nominees were announced by ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat here on Monday.

India's Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been nominated for two prizes, the one-day player of the year and the Twenty20 International performance of the year after leading India to victory in the inaugural T20 World Cup in South Africa.

Indian paceman Ishant Sharma will compete with Sri Lanka's mystery spinner Ajantha Mendis, England all-rounder Stuart Broad and South African fast bowler Morne Morkel for the Emerging Player award.

Simon Taufel of Australia could win a fifth successive umpire of the year award after being nominated alongside Mark Benson of England, Aleem Dar of Pakistan, Steve Davis of Australia and South African Rudi Koertzen.

0 Responses to "Pakistan’s Yousuf, Dar among nominees for ICC awards"

Will Pakistan Premier League gain success just like Indian Premier League ?